.

Letter to the Editor: Schneider for Congress

Former Lake County Board Member Carol Spielman supports Brad Schneider.

I look for leadership in deciding who I want to represent me in congress.  I also look for someone who stands up for the issues important to me.  Women’s health issues is high on that list.

Any assessment of Congressman Bob Dold’s stance on women’s health issues is that he does not  lead or stand up for women when it matters.

I was there in 1973 when women were granted the right to make their own decisions about their own bodies.  This momentous decision for women will always need legislative reinforcement.  Supporting that right should include supporting the institutions that care about women’s health by providing basic health services.  

Bob Dold voted for the “Protect Life Act” - also known as the “Let Women Die Act.”  This amendment would have prohibited hospitals from providing abortions to women, even when the mother’s life was at risk.

When Bob Dold voted to defund Planned Parenthood, a non-partisan organization that supports the health of millions of women, children, and their families - I knew that I could not support him as my member of congress.

Brad Schneider has been outspoken in his support of protecting a woman’s right to choose.  He believes in the fundamental right that a woman can make her own decisions about her body and her health.  He supports Planned Parenthood.  We can count on Brad to advocate for women. 

I hope you will join me in voting for Brad Schneider for Congress. 

Carol Spielman

Highland Park

J. Robert October 29, 2012 at 05:00 PM
No one is going to take women's rights away. Women's rights as well as everyone else's rights must be protected and secured and will be whether its Dold or not. However, if the U.S. doesn't get spending under control and restore some sense of rational approach to restoring a secure economic environment with leaders who act with some sense of maturity toward the greater good of the U.S., then women's right to choose, along with all of our rights, will be in jeopardy. Women's rights are important but not an issue to distract leaders from the monumental task at hand. It's time liberals stop the fear spreading. Picking one issue as the rationale to endorse a candidate is weak and self centered. No more Democratic destruction.
D'skidoc October 29, 2012 at 08:41 PM
yo J Bob...are you daft? What world do you live in? Oh....the one in which the Vice Presidential Candidate didn't sponsor some 30 or more bills to defund Planned Parenthood (97% of funding goes to preventive and necessary care) or to push all manner of restrictions on abortion and (conversely) contraception.
McCloud October 29, 2012 at 08:45 PM
Pay for your own human butcher shops and contraceptives, leave my money out of it!
RB October 29, 2012 at 09:56 PM
For some reason Women's healthcare is being marginalized by the Romney/Ryan ticket and the Republicans. It's not just about contraception. Contraceptives are used for several health related issues. Also, the healthcare act has 7 gender specific requirements for coverage. Insurers must now cover domestic violence screening and counseling, breastfeeding supplies and annual preventive care, such as pap smears and pelvic exams. Are you against too?
McCloud October 30, 2012 at 12:51 AM
Yes, insurance companies and citizens should have the freedom to purchase insurance to their liking. Passing mandated benefits has increased the premiums year after year. I'd like to buy a policy just for an illness or accident, and leave out the breastfeed/domestic violence/couseling.bully benefit bs.
J. Robert October 30, 2012 at 02:29 AM
I live in a world of accountability and self sufficiency. I pay for my own insurance, take care of myself and get appropriate health care. I nor my wife or daughter depend on Planned Parenthood for services or supplies. (no, I wasn't raised on the northshore and did not inherit anything material so don't accuse me of being a rich "out of touch" guy) No, smart guy, I'm not daft. Just a guy who feels compelled to respond to the liberal victims who always want more. Can't relate, can you?
Sandra Sims October 30, 2012 at 12:30 PM
McClown, you are not paying for abortions or other's contraceptives. I realize facts disturb you, but they are still facts. As for J, so because you are able to afford insurance, and your wife and daughter are cared for, other women who are not so lucky should not have access to cancer screenings? How very....Christian......of you. And so very typical.
McCloud October 30, 2012 at 12:50 PM
I am not paying for abortions? What do they do at Planned Parenthood play checkers?
J. Robert October 30, 2012 at 01:19 PM
Sandra how very disappointing but I guess, typical, of one like you to make assertions about me. In my response to D'Skidoc I made no comment about not allowing anyone access to cancer screenings. BTW, where do males go for free check-ups? The point I hoped to make was that no one should accept dependence on gov't. as a way of life. A safety net is important but has become a standard of living for a growing segment of the population. It is no longer basic services that people expect. The expectation is that more and more should be provided for free... Contraceptives? Someone has to pay..."lucky" ones like me and my family are the ones who pay. By the way, I don't consider myself lucky. No one gave me a thing that anyone else didn't have available to them. I also support organizations that do provide safety net services for people in need. But that probably doesn't meet your definition of Christian, does it. I suspect that I subscribe to a very different set of values than you that include committment and self sufficiency. I believe that providing people opportunities to improve their way of life works better than making them dependent on gov't. That's why I support those who work toward a prospering economy instead of promises of handouts. If I'm "so very typical", what are you?
Jay Chapel October 30, 2012 at 02:12 PM
One wonders how we ever survived without Planned Parenthood. Women's health issue are not defined by the politics of Planned Parenthood nor the services it claims to provide. There are critical issues we face right now including finding the money to pay for medical services agreed upon by everyone, much less that given to PP. This administration has destroyed the fiscal system, been unwilling to have a Democratic controlled Senate even PASS a budget, and spent the entire four years blaming George Bush. Reagan took over in a desperate time and I do not recall him spending his time in office whining about Jimmy Carter. The deficit is so bad right now that if all government workers and military personnel were fired, we would still have a deficit. This President is a maniac and needs to be stopped. Voting for one more supporter of his policies is insane.
MS October 30, 2012 at 02:38 PM
Spielman is an embarassment to women if she bases her vote on a single issue and assume others will follow her lead. The women I talk to care much more about the economy (women's jobs, for example) and national security than the issue of abortion, which isn't decided by the President of the United States, anyway. I am not saying that abortion, and whatever one's view on it isn't important, but it is only one of many, many issues, and fortunately the women I know are basing their voting on all of them.
Just Sayin October 30, 2012 at 03:08 PM
WoW...Alot of conservative double speak going on here today. First...J Bob with: "No one is going to take women's rights away." Followed by:. "then women's right to choose, along with all of our rights, will be in jeopardy". Which is it joker? The rights here to stay or will they be in jeopardy? Then...McClown chimes in about mandated benefits: "citizens should have the freedom to purchase insurance to their liking" followed by: " I'd like to buy a policy just for an illness or accident, and leave out the breastfeed/domestic violence/couseling.bully benefit bs". So what you are saying is that people should have the freedom to purchase the insurance OF YOUR LIKING. Republi-CON ARTIST speak. Oh...and J Bob...I was raised on the North Shore...with a silver spoon in my mouth...yet...I am a more compassionate soul than you. So maybe its not the out of touch rich guys theory...maybe it's the wannabee rich guys, like yourself, that grab and and hold and try to keep others down so that you can feel closer to the top than the bottom. It's not the level wealth that determines compassion...it's generosity of spirit. Which you sir are obviously lacking.
J. Robert October 30, 2012 at 04:39 PM
Not surprised "Just Sayin" that you were raised on the northshore. Your illogical comments reflect an out-of-touch whiny complainer for which the northshore has become stereotyped. Must have had a difficult affluent childhood with little accountability and lots of therapy so now you can promote wasting other people's money. Making yourself feel better sticking up for the underprivileged and ridiculing "The Man" from afar. How about "Just Sayin" something worthwhile for a change. Taking one's comments out of context to be argumentive is small minded...you left out the key part of my comment relative to elected leadership and what is at stake - "if the U.S. doesn't get spending under control and restore some sense of rational approach to restoring a secure economic environment with leaders who act with some sense of maturity toward the greater good of the U.S., then women's right to choose, along with all of our rights, will be in jeopardy". Unfortunately you don't get it and never will.
RB October 30, 2012 at 05:19 PM
What people like J Robert fail to understand (or they fail to mention, if they do understand) is that there will always be people who can't afford healthcare. They are a greater cost to society if they become seriously ill without getting preventative care. You want to deny them preventative healthcare? If so, do you turn them away from the emergency room? They would die. Are you suggesting death panels? I thought not. You can't have your cake and eat it too.
RB October 30, 2012 at 05:19 PM
What people like J Robert fail to understand (or they fail to mention, if they do understand) is that there will always be people who can't afford healthcare. They are a greater cost to society if they become seriously ill without getting preventative care. You want to deny them preventative healthcare? If so, do you turn them away from the emergency room? They would die. Are you suggesting death panels? I thought not. You can't have your cake and eat it too.
Janet Sirabian October 30, 2012 at 07:04 PM
Who is paying for abortions and other's contraceptives? I believe that would be the rest of us who do pay for insurance and pay taxes. Insurance has always been a priority for me, and no matter how much I was struggling and may have had to give up other things, I always made sure that my children and I had insurance. I am happy to help those that are truly in need of medical care, but there is absolutely no reason that I should pay for abortions and contraceptives for others.
Brian L. October 30, 2012 at 07:39 PM
Isn't one of the burdens of being a tax payer and paying into a collective pool that your money is going to be used for some things that you disagree with, either on a financial or your perceived ethical level? When tax dollars were/are going towards "liberating" Iraq, I didn't/don't enjoy paying for us to kill and be killed on the battlefield. Others were for it, so my money had to go to it as well. Wouldn't abortion/planned parenthood be the same type of thing? Our tax system isn't a la carte.
Karen October 30, 2012 at 08:34 PM
Having worked in the accounting and payroll/persoinnel area for well over 30 years, I can tell all of you that employer health insurance premiums have ALWAYS increased year over year, and frankly what specifically has to be covered by the policies does not really determine increases!
J. Robert October 30, 2012 at 10:52 PM
Karen, that is not completely accurate. What is covered by the policy does play a role in the cost as does the demographic make-up of the people covered, location, utilization by those covered and the financial performance of the insurance company. Unfortuantely, premiums have increased every year for almost 20 years in a row so you are correct about that. Also unfortunately, premium increases are projected to continue under the Obamacare legislation.
Chilawyer October 31, 2012 at 04:27 AM
All things being equal, Schneider is just too damned goofy looking to serve in a high profile office. Looks like Mr. Potatohead. Not saying congresspersons have to look like movie stars, but c'mon.
louisvuitton November 03, 2012 at 08:25 AM
Louis Vuitton Handbags outlet||http://www.louisvuittonhandbagsoutletss.com/ Coach Factory outlet||http://www.getcoachfactorysoutlet.com/
uyhghghgf November 05, 2012 at 08:33 AM
they have begun trying to lower http://www.coachoutletmls.com expectations.Consolidated Edison, for example, tucked an especially http://www.hemesbelscq.com dire note into a news release on Thursday afternoon. It said the http://www.coachfactoryoutletion.com “vast majority” of its customers in New York City http://www.coachoutletonlinehl.net and the northern suburbs should have power by Nov. 11, http://www.coachoutletonlineef.org but a significant number could remain in the dark for http://www.coachoutletuso.net a week or more beyond that.John Miksad, the company’s senior http://www.coachfactorystorebg.org vice president for electric operations, said some “stragglers http://www.coachoutletonlinetb.com ” might not get electricity again until the middle of this http://www.coachoutlethcs.com month. Those living through the worst-case situation may http://www.coachoutletb1.com account for just a few percent of the 850,000 Con Edison http://www.coachoutletdi.org customers who lost power,
xiaoyang November 12, 2012 at 12:15 PM
Unlike the big offshore-based http://www.coachoutletonlinexc.net/ Coach Factory Outlet names, domestic players, and anyone operating a China-based service for that matter, must follow Beijing's http://www.louisvuittonoutletam.net/ Louis Vuitton Purses strict self-censorship rules and immediately remove any content banned by central propaganda officials or http://www.coachoutletstoreze.com/ Coach Factory Outlet risk big fines and even closure.The homegrown Chinese services have had to walk a difficult tightrope as http://www.guccibeltsoutletds.net/ Gucci Belts they tried to build commercial services while waiting for Beijing to take a clear stance on how much it was willing to http://www.coachfactoryonlinefn.net/ Coach Factory Outlet tolerate in the world of online public debate.Beijing initially took a line of relative tolerance, only to http://www.coachfactoryonlineae.com/ Coach Factory Outlet slam on the brakes periodically when angry debate started getting out of control during discussion of http://www.coachoutletb1.com/ Coach Factory Online sensitive topics like the high-speed rail crash in Zhejiang province last year that left more than 30 dead and 200 http://www.coachoutlethcs.com/ Coach Outlet Online injured.Beijing's growing unease with the situation came to a head in late 2011
Canada6666666 November 13, 2012 at 03:47 AM
http://coachfactoryoutlet.luxury-best.com Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutletline.com Coach Factory Online http://coachfactoryoutlet.luxury-best.com Coach Factory here is the best Coach Factory Outlet 0nline. Buy Coach Handbags at cheaper price, pick-up your language and find the right version for you, enjoy the big discount with free shipping. http://www.coachfactoryoutletline.com The Best Choice, Coach Factory Outlet Online for Sale.hight quality Coach Factory Outlet at wholesale price at our Coach Factory Outlet online
farefarjey November 16, 2012 at 02:28 AM
We’re not quite at that http://www.coachfactoryoutletonlinebc.org stage yet. But we may be on the right path. For http://www.coachoutletod.com perhaps the greatest geek triumph of the 2012 presidential http://www.coachfactoryoutletbo.net elections was the unlikely figure of statistician Nate Silver, http://www.coachoutletpn.com whose FiveThirtyEight blog – which algorithmically assessed http://www.coachfactorystoredo.com hundreds of polls based on their historical accuracy – http://www.coachoutletos.org managed to successfully predict the result in 50 out http://www.coachoutletstorefb.com of 50 states.His analysis – like every political story – divides http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinert.com opinion. To my mind, though, his work shines a light on a bigger story about our future relationship http://www.coachoutletonlinelc.net with technology, and in particular on a vision of progress http://www.coachoutletonlinelon.com where there’s an increasingly clear divide between those http://www.coachoutletonlinelsa.com endeavours that can safely be left to humans, and those where http://www.coachoutletdt.net machines and mathematics are preferable.It’s something that http://www.louisvuittonoutletcft.net is already happening. From automated explorations of Mars, http://www.louisvuittonoutletsc.com the use of unmanned drone aircraft for reconnaissance and http://www.burberryscarfoutletvip.com remote assassination, to the analysis of pr
TRUYTUIYTI November 30, 2012 at 04:48 AM
http://www.coachfactoryoutletcc.us Coach Factory Outlet http://www.guccibeltsoutletstores.net Gucci Belt http://www.coachoutletonlinewo.com Coach Factory Store http://www.coachfactorystoredo.com Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachfactoryoutletpo.com Coach Factory Online Store http://www.coachoutletonlinefc.org Coach Online Outlet http://www.coachoutletloa.com Coach Factory Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletwr.com Coach Bags Outlet http://www.coachoutletonlineyu.net Coach Factory Online http://www.coachfactoryonlineen.com Coach Factory Online http://www.hermesbeltsod.net Hermes Belt http://www.coachoutletonlinefs.com Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstoreps.com Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachfactoryoutletbo.net Coach Factory Online http://www.coachfactoryoutletdt.us Coach Factory Stores http://www.coachoutletstoreonlinert.com Coach Handbags Outlet http://www.coachoutletonlinelsa.com Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletdt.net Coach Factory Store http://www.coachoutletstorefb.com Coach Bags Outlet Online http://www.coachbagsoutleton.org Coach Factory Online http://www.louisvuittonbeltsdt.net Louis Vuitton Belt

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »